Social Work

Master of Social Work accredited by the Council on Social Work Education!

Social Work is a practical and academic discipline dedicated to social welfare through scholarship, professional activities, and advocacy. The practice of Social Work requires the understanding of human development and behavior and how social, economic, and cultural institutions interaction with these factors.

Social workers are concerned with hands-on application of research and methods that promote the investigations, treatment, and material aid of the economically, physically, mentally, or socially disadvantaged. A social worker may help people obtain tangible services; counsel individuals, families, and groups; and help communities or groups provide services to improve quality of life.

The Social Work Program

The Social Work program at Auburn University offers a Bachelor of Arts degree in Social Work and Masters of Social Work (MSW). The Bachelor of Arts degree is fully accredited by the Council on Social Work Education. A person with a degree from an accredited institution is eligible to take the examination for licensure as a baccalaureate-level social worker (LBSW) and apply for advanced standing in social work graduate programs.

The MSW program was approved by the Auburn University Board of Trustees in February 2016 and by the Alabama Council on Higher Education in September 2016. The program began in fall of 2017 and is currently in Candidacy for accreditation from the Council on Social Work Education (CSWE).

Alabama's social work licensing law provides for licensing social workers at three levels: bachelors (LBSW), masters (LMSW), and independent clinical (LICSW). One becomes licensed by completing a social work degree from a college or university, approved, accredited or in candidacy granted by the Council by Social Work Education. A person who graduates from Auburn University with a social work degree (BSW or MSW) may become licensed if he or she applies and passes the test for the bachelor or masters level.

As stated in the National Association of Social Workers Code of Ethics and consistent with Auburn University Equal Opportunity Policy, we the administration, faculty, staff, and social work program:

  • Advocate for the elimination of any form of discrimination on the basis of race, color, gender, sexual orientation, age, religion, national origin, marital status, political belief, mental or physical limitation, or socioeconomic status.
  • Are committed to teach, encourage, and promote an appreciation for an understanding of diversity in the Social Work program at Auburn University, our profession, and our community.
  • Affirm the value of soliciting and incorporating diversity into all aspects of our educational experiences, our profession, and our personal lives as one way to enrich our total life experience individually and collectively as members of a world community.

Social Work Faculty

The Social Work Faculty include seven full-time faculty; three holding doctoral degrees with expertise in homelessness, health and public health, disaster studies, children and families, and stigma and mental health; and four with MSW's with clinical practice expertise in child welfare, poverty, cultural competence, disabilities, medical social work, aging and addictions. All faculty utilize civic engagement in their coursework and serve on a variety of local, state and regional social service boards.

Upcoming Events