Skip to main content

Department of Sociology, Anthropology & Social Work
Social Work Licensure

Alabama’s social work licensure law provides for licensing social workers at three levels: bachelor's (LBSW), master's (LMSW), and independent clinical (LICSW). You can become licensed by completing a social work degree from a college or university that is accredited or in candidacy granted by the Council on Social Work Education and by passing the appropriate licensure exam.

The licensing law in Alabama is administered by the Alabama State Board of Social Work Examiners (ASBSWE). One of the first things you should do upon graduation is apply for licensure. Candidates for licensure must be approved by the ASBSWE in order to schedule the exam. Please review the ASWB candidate handbook for further information.

Please note licensure regulations vary by state. If you plan to practice clinical social work in another state, you are encouraged to become familiar with that state’s licensing regulations. It is your responsibility to fully understand and comply with licensing requirements in the state in which you intend to practice. 

For more information about how Auburn University's Social Work Program complies with state licensure requirements, please visit the Office of Institutional Research's website for professional licensure