Skip to main content

CLA presents 2023 faculty and staff awards

Auburn University College of Liberal Arts Logo

The College of Liberal Arts announces its 2023 faculty and staff award recipients.

This year’s Promotion of Excellence in Teaching and Learning (PETL) award recipients include:

Academy of Outstanding Teachers
Kristrina Shuler, Professor, Department of Anthropology, Sociology and Social Work

Teaching Excellence Award
Jennifer Lockhart, Associate Professor, Department of Philosophy
Lauren Woods, Assistant Professor, Department of Art & Art History

Online Teaching Award
Keren Gorodeisky, Professor, Department of Philosophy

Community and Civic Engagement Award
Sarah Aghazadeh, Assistant Professor, School of Communication and Journalism

Lecturer Award
Loxley Compton, Lecturer, Department of Philosophy

Instructor Award
Allison Vandenberg, Instructor, Women’s and Gender Studies Program

Advising Award
Katherine McKenzie, Academic Advisor, Office of Student Services
John Rapp, Professor, Department of Psychological Sciences

Recipients of competitive grants and awards include:

Summer Research and Humanities Grant
Christopher Ferguson, Associate Professor, Department of History
John Morris, Professor, Department of Political Science

Collaborative and Interdisciplinary Research and Humanities Grant
Fereshteh Rostampour, Professor, Department of Theatre and Dance

Teaching Release Support for Grant Writing Award
April Smith, Associate Professor, Department of Psychological Sciences

Eren Armiger, administrative support specialist for the AU Psychological Services Center, received the Staff Employee of the Year award, and Daphne Walker, engagement coordinator for the School of Aviation, received the A&P Employee of the Year award.

“Our faculty and staff members set an example every day for excellence in teaching, outreach and research,” Dean Jason Hicks said. “With these awards, we proudly elevate their important work in promoting student success and the land-grant mission of Auburn University.”

More information about faculty support in the College of Liberal Arts can be found at

Tags: Office of the Dean Art and Art History Communication and Journalism Philosophy Political Science Psychological Sciences Sociology Anthropology and Social Work Theatre and Dance Womens and Gender Studies Anthropology Aviation

Media Contact

Charlotte Tuggle, Director
News and Media Services
CLA Office of Communications and Marketing

Related Articles