Skip to main content

Byahut elected to Association of Collegiate Schools of Planning governing board

Sweta Byahut

Associate Professor Sweta Byahut was recently elected to serve on the governing board of the Association of Collegiate Schools of Planning, or ACSP. Representing the Southeast region, Byahut will serve a two-year term, beginning October 20, 2023.

Byahut served as the director of the Master of Community Planning program and led strategic planning, recruitment and STEM designation efforts in the program as well as expanded its community engagement around Alabama. With more than 25 years of experience in professional and academic settings and a strong belief in connecting practice with academia, her research focuses on urban sustainability, land management and development regulations. She works in both the U.S. and India and currently serves on ACSP Committee on Global Planning Education, advocating for internationalizing and diversifying planning education

“I have been attending ACSP conferences since I was a student and recognize the crucial role of ACSP in providing direction to planning education. This region is the fastest growing and urbanizing in the country and will require many more planners to address these challenges. The Southeast region also forms the largest representation in ACSP. I will collaborate with member schools to identify our concerns, convey them to the ACSP board, and work collaboratively to achieve our goals,” said Byahut.

The Association of Collegiate Schools of Planning is a consortium of more than 100 university departments and programs offering planning degrees as well as programs that offer degrees affiliated with planning. ACSP connects educators, researchers and students to advance knowledge about planning education and research. ACSP is committed to promoting the field of planning as a diverse global community that works collectively toward healthy, equitable and sustainable neighborhoods, cities and regions.

Tags: Faculty Political Science

Media Contact

Charlotte Tuggle, Director
News and Media Services
CLA Office of Communications and Marketing

Related Articles