Calendar

2018-2019 Events Calendar 


Spring 2019


Monday, January 7

Welcome and orientation meeting with Exchange Students/Faculty 

Tichenor 310 • 11:30am-1pm 

Wednesday, January 9

Spring 2019 semester classes begin

Thursday, January 17

SYNOVUS campus visit

Topics: Career Advice on How to Prepare for Employment the Last Year at Auburn 

Tichenor 310 • 11:45am-2pm

Monday, January 21

M. L. King, Jr. Day

Tuesday, January 22

CV/Resume Workshop

Click here to reserve a time slot!

Tichenor 310 • 3pm

Tuesday, January 22

Keynote Lecture with Bryan Stevenson and Unsung Hero Award 

Click here to register and find more info on other MLK week events.

AU Hotel and Conference Center • 7pm

Thursday, January 24

Women's Leadership Institute Book Launch

Outside In: Voices from the Margins by Drs. Baker and De Vries 

Free and open to the public. 

Pebble Hill • 4pm

Contact Dr. Baker for more information. 

Tuesday, January 29

Internship and Part-Time Job Fair

Student Center Ballroom • 10am-1pm

Thursday, February 7

Scott Mondore - Co-Founder & Managing Partner, SMD

Alumni Speaker Series 

Tichenor 310 • 12-2pm 

(12-1pm: Career Presentation; 1-2pm: one-on-one meetings)

Open to students 

Tuesday, February 12

Atlanta Career Trek

Visiting: MELT ATL, Alzheimer's Association, & Coca-Cola Company

Registration is now closed. 

7am - Museum Parking

Wednesday, February 13

Book Talk: Dr. Jessica Wilkerson

To Live Here, You Have to Fight: How Women Led Appalachian Movements for Social Justice

(Sponsored by the Department of History and the Women's Studies Program) 

Pebble Hill • 4pm

Free and open to the public

Thursday, February 14

Employer Mock Interviews 

Tichenor 310 • 2-4 pm 

Click here to reserve a time slot! 

Open to students 

Monday, February 18

Dr. Heather Hackman: A Sustainability Speaker Series Event

Langdon Hall • 7pm

Tuesday, February 19

The Office of Sustainability welcomes Social Justice Speaker, Dr. Heather Hackman, to lead a workshop for faculty and staff. 

Open to the CLA Diversity Committee and CLA Guests 
Tichenor 310 • 2:30-4:30 pm 

Wednesday, February 20

Film Screening, "Our Future Came from the School: The Story of the Yangjuan Primary School"

Commentary by Director: Dr. Tami Blumenthal 

Mell 2510 • 4pm

Thursday, February 21

Silverline Marketing campus visit

Topic: Personal Branding Advice

Tichenor 310 • 12-2pm

(12-1 pm: Career Presentation; 1-2 pm: one-on-one meetings)

Open to students 

Monday, February 25 - Tuesday, February 26 

Diversity Promising Practices

AUHCC • 8am-4:30pm

http://ocm.auburn.edu/promisingpractices/ 

Tuesday, March 5

CLA Internship Scholarship Q&A

Tichenor 310 • 4-5pm

Open to students 

Monday - Friday, March 11-15

Spring Break

Thursday, March 21

UiPath employer campus visit

Topic: The Value of a Liberal Arts Degree & Transferable Skills from Student to Employee

and UiPath's Academic Alliance Program 

Tichenor 310 • 12-2pm

(12-1 pm: Career Presentation; 1-2 pm: one-on-one meetings)

Open to students 

Monday, March 25 

AU Career Fair (All Majors) 
Student Center Ballroom • 2pm-6pm

Thursday, March 28 

A talk on Women in Music by the members of the Cortona Trio
Time & venue = TBA 

Monday, April 8 

CLA Diversity Committee Meeting
Tichenor 310 • 2pm-4pm 

Thursday, April 11 - Saturday, April 20

Alabama Love Stories

AU Theatre's 105th Season: Acts of Kindness

Telfair B Peet Theatre Blackbox • 7:30pm 

Buy tickets here 

Friday, April 12 

AUsome Alumni Day 

Mark Sparkman30 year CIA veteran
Chloe MelasCNN Entertainment Reporter
Kate Higgins: Voice Actress, Singer & Jazz Pianist 
Shanna Lockwood: Digital Media Manager of Special Projects at USA TODAY Sports Images

Alumni Center • 4:30-6:30 pm

Invitation & RSVP only

Monday, April 15 

Women's Leadership Conference

Sponsored by Women's Initiatives in the Provost's Office of Inclusion and Diversity

Time & Venue = TBA 

Tuesday, April 16

Samia I. Spencer Creative Mentorship Award Ceremony

And Women's Studies Program Spring Meeting and Reception 

Pebble Hill • 3:30pm 

Call for Applications now available 

Thursday, April 18

Jay & Susie Gogue Performing Arts Center

Tichenor 310 • 12-2pm

(12-1 pm: Career Presentation; 1-2 pm: one-on-one meetings)

Open to students 

Thursday - Saturday, April 25-27

The British Women's Writer's Conference

AU Hotel and Conference Center

Click here for more information 

Monday - Friday, April 29 - May 3

Finals Week

May - TBA

AU Outreach and Engagement Scholarship Symposium 

 

Fall 2018


Thursday, August 16

Welcome International Students Meeting and Luncheon
Tichenor 310 • 12 - 1 • Lunch provided

This meeting is for the CLA Exchange students

Monday, August 20

Fall 2018 Classes Begin

Wednesday, August 22

CLA Welcome Week Event 

Join us for Ice Cream with the Dean 

Come get free O-Town Ice Cream at the Tichenor Hall main entrance. 

Additionally, all students and faculty are invited to have free pizza in Tichenor Hall 310 to learn more about the uniqie CLA Minors: Africana Studies, Community and Civic Engagement, Leadership, Sustainability, and Women's Studies. Representatives from each minor will be present to provide information and answer questions for anyone interested in being involved. 

Tichenor 310 • 1:00 pm - 3:00 pm

Wednesday, August 22

Come to the Sustainability Picnic for FREE food, fun, door prizes, and music. Learn about sustainability at Auburn, and connect with student groups, programs, and opportunities that make a difference. You can also visit with the local farmers and producers that provide food for campus, in addition to representatives from the picnic sponsors: Office of Sustainability, Tiger Dining, the Donald E. Davis Arboretum, the Waste Reduction and Recycling Department, Academic Sustainability Programs, and the Natural Resources Management Major.

Donald E. Davis Arboretum • 4:30pm-6:30pm

Wednesday, August 29

Internship and Part-time Job Fair
Student Center • 10am-2pm

Wednesday, August 29

Women's Studies Program Annual Open House. Stop by the Women’s Studies office to have some lunch, learn about the program, and talk with WS affiliates, students, and supporters from across campus!
Women's Studies Program Office • Haley Center 3227 • 10am - 2 pm

Meet with program reps, apply for a passport, and learn about financial aid and scholarships!

Thursday, August 30

AU Liberal Arts - Exchange Program Info Session for the University of Toulon, France

242 Foy Hall • 11:30am-1pm 

Monday, September 3

Labor Day

Thursday, September 6

CLA Diversity Committee Meeting
Tichenor 310 • 2pm-4pm

Sunday, September 30

Arts and Humanities Month Opening Kickoff, Come enjoy the orchestra at Pebble Hill!

Arts and Humanities Month will kick off in Auburn with "Celebrate the Arts on the Hill" on Sunday, Sept. 30, from 3-5 p.m. at Pebble Hill. The event is presented by The Caroline Marshall Draughon Center for the Arts and Humanities in the College of Liberal Arts at Auburn University.

The celebration begins at 3 p.m. and features the Auburn University/Community Orchestra.

Those who attend the free, family-friendly community event can bring chairs or blankets for outdoor seating. Onsite parking is limited; street parking is available.

The Caroline Marshall Draughon Center for the Arts and Humanities at Pebble Hill is located at 101 S. Debardeleben St. in Auburn.
Pebble Hill • 3pm-5pm

(To view the Arts and Humanities Month Calendar, please click here.) 

Tuesday - Wednesday, October 2 - 3

Engagement Scholarship Conference

The 19th Annual Conference of the Engagement Scholarship Consortium will take place in Minneapolis, Minnesota. "Transforming Higher Education through Engaged Scholarship."
Pre-Conference Sept. 30 - Oct. 1, Conference Oct. 2 - 3. 

Friday, October 5

Deadline to apply for the CLA Diversity Symposium 
Apply by the end of the day today for the FREE annual CLA diversity symposium, which will be November 1st, 2018 at Pebble Hill. Undergraduate students, graduate students, and faculty are all welcome to apply! 
For more information and registration details, please visit the CLA Diversity Symposium Registration Page.

Thursday - Friday, October 11 - 12

Fall Break

Sunday, October 21

First Feature of the National Italian American Heritage Month Film Festival

Tutto quello che vuoi directed by Francesco Bruni

Jule Collins Smith Museum of Fine Art • Refreshments at 1:30 pm • Film at 2:00 pm • Free and open to the public! (To register, please click this link.)

Tuesday, October 30

Auburn Career Fair for All Majors

Student Center • 2 - 6pm

Wednesday, October 31

Study Abroad and International Involvement Fair
Student Center Ballroom • 10am-3pm

Come visit the CCE table at the study abroad fair and learn about the International CCE Internship and Exchange programs. 

Thursday, November 1

CLA Diversity Symposium and Luncheon featuring keynote speaker Dr. Bernard Lafayette

Faculty, Graduate, and Undergraduate students are all invited to join the annual CLA Diversity Symposium. This is an excellent opportunity for all to learn about the diversity research that is being conducted on campus. Papers, posters, and round table discussions welcome! No registration fee. 
For more information and registration details, please visit the CLA Diversity Symposium registration page
Pebble Hill • 8am-2pm • FREE Lunch provided

Monday - Friday, November 19 - 23

Thanksgiving Break

Thursday, November 28

CLA Diversity Committee Meeting
Tichenor 310 • 2pm-4pm

Monday - Friday, December 10 - 14

Final Exams


Last Updated: March 18, 2019