Events

Thursday, January 17: “From Stories to Songs: An Evening with Singer-Songwriter Liz Longley.” Pebble Hill, 7 p.m. 

Wednesday, January 23: Early Alabama History Workshop with Dr. James Pate. Pebble Hill, 10 a.m. to Noon.

Thursday, January 24: Book Launch of Outside In: Voices from the Margins. Pebble Hill, 4 p.m. Sponsored by the Women's Leadership Institute. 

Friday, January 25: Teacher Workshop: WWI 360: Teach Like An Ace. Register online at aub.ie/WWI360.

Tuesday, January 29: Book Talk by Joseph Bagley, author of The Politics of White Rights: Race, Justice, and Integrating Alabama’s Schools. Pebble Hill, 4 p.m.

Wednesday, January 30: “Funny Talk: On the Nature of Dialect in the South and Elsewhere,” by Breeden Scholar David Marlow. Pebble Hill, 4 p.m.

Thursday, January 31: “Union Demobilization and the Meaning of Peace in the Wake of America’s Civil War,” by Andrew Lang. Pebble Hill, 4 p.m.

Tuesday, February 5: Book Talk by Sam Hendrix, author of The Cary Legacy: Dr. Charles Allen Cary, Father of Veterinary Medicine at Auburn and in the South. Pebble Hill, 4 p.m.

Wednesday, February 6: Alabama Humanities Foundation SUPER Teacher Institute: Deliberation in the Classroom: Creek Indian Civil War of 1813-14. Register online at aub.ie/creekwarworkshop.

Thursday, February 7: Book Talk by Foster Dickson, author of Closed Ranks: The Whitehurst Case in Post-Civil Rights Montgomery. Pebble Hill, 4 p.m.

Wednesday, February 13: Book Talk by Jessica Wilkerson, author of To Live Here, You Have to Fight: How Women Led Appalachian Movements for Social Justice. Pebble Hill, 4 p.m.

Thursday, February 21: "'When Cowards Shrink and Brave Men Die': Cowardice and Combat in the Confederate Army,” by Lesley Gordon. Pebble Hill, 4 p.m.

Saturday, February 23: Auburn-Opelika Men’s Camellia Club Show. Pebble Hill. 

Monday, February 25: Book Talk by Adam Makos, author of Spearhead: An American Tank Gunner, His Enemy, and a Collision of Lives in World War II. Pebble Hill, 5:30 p.m.

Thursday, February 28: Reading by Marlin Barton, author of Pasture Art. Pebble Hill, 3 p.m.

Thursday, February 28: A Queer Community History: Site Mapping in Auburn and Opelika. Sponsored by the invisible Histories Project. Pebble Hill, 6 p.m.

Tuesday, March 26: Workshop: Serving Justice: Using Service-Learning to Promote Social Justice with Breeden Scholar David Marlow. 310 Tichenor Hall, 2:30 p.m. to 4 p.m.

Wednesday, March 27: Book Talk by Susan Brinson and Laura Beth Daws, authors of The Greater Good: Media, Family Removal, and TVA Dam Construction in North Alabama. Pebble Hill, 4 p.m.

Thursday, April 18: Bert Hitchcock Award in Southern Studies Presentation. Pebble Hill, 4 p.m.


 

Last Updated: February 18, 2019