Events

Wednesday, September 5: “The Richness of Alabama Culture and Harper Lee” with Wayne Flynt. H. Grady Bradshaw Library, Valley. Noon.

Thursday, September 6: Alabama: The History of a Deep South State, Bicentennial Edition Book Signing and Discussion with Wayne Flynt and Leah Atkins. Pebble Hill, 4 p.m.

Wednesday, September 12: Music on the Hill, featuring The Honey Island Swamp Band. Benefitting the Food Bank of East Alabama. Pebble Hill, 5 p.m. Seating is limited. In lieu of tickets, please bring a canned food item or monetary donation to contribute to the Food Bank of East Alabama.

Thursday, September 13: "Alabama: The History of a Deep South State," with Wayne Flynt. Selma Dallas County Public Library, Noon. For more information, call 334-874-1725.

Thursday, September 13: Book Talk by Frye Gaillard, author of A Hard Rain: America in the 1960s, Our Decade of Hope, Possibility, and Innocence Lost. Pebble Hill, 4 p.m.

Wednesday, September 19: Local Archives Fair, featuring representatives from Alabama Department of Archives & History, Auburn University, Birmingham Public Library, Cobb Memorial Archives, Columbus State University, LaGrange College Library and Archives, Montgomery County Archives, and Tuskegee University. Pebble Hill, 1 p.m. to 3:30 p.m.

Sunday, September 30: Arts & Humanities Month Kick-Off Concert, featuring the Auburn High School Jazz Band. Pebble Hill, 4 p.m.

Tuesday, October 2: "Alabama: The History of a Deep South State" with Wayne Flynt. Florence-Lauderdale Public Library, Florence, 6 p.m.

Tuesday, October 23: “’It Came Like a Cyclone’: Alabama and the 1918 Influenza” by Jim Baggett. Auburn University School of Nursing, 9 a.m.

Tuesday, October 23: “’It Came Like a Cyclone’: Alabama and the 1918 Influenza” by Jim Baggett. H. Grady Bradshaw Library, Valley. Noon.

Wednesday, October 24: “’It Came Like a Cyclone’: Alabama and the 1918 Influenza” by Jim Baggett. B.B. Comer Memorial Library, Sylacauga. Noon.

Thursday, October 25: Sundilla Concert Series at Pebble Hill featuring Kate Campbell

Saturday, October 27: Alabama Historical Association Fall Pilgrimage in Camden, Alabama. For more information, visit alabamahistory.net

Tuesday, October 30: Exhibit and Talk by Chester Higgins. Pebble Hill, 4 p.m.

Thursday, November 1: CLA Diversity Symposium, featuring Dr. Bernard LaFayette. Pebble Hill, 8 a.m. to 2 p.m. For more information, visit the registration page

Thursday, November 8: Book Talk by Emily Burns, author of Transnational Frontiers: the American West in the French Imagination. Pebble Hill, 4 p.m.

Thursday, November 15: Fall Symposium. TBA.


 

Last Updated: September 06, 2018