NEA awards Milward Creative Writing Fellowship

Photo of Andrew Malan Milward

Andrew Malan Milward, assistant professor in the Department of English, is one of 36 recipients nationwide to receive a Creative Writing Fellowship from the National Endowment for the Arts (NEA).

“This fellowship recognizes Dr. Milward’s considerable talents and creativity and is another example of how our faculty members excel in the Department of English.” College of Liberal Arts Dean Joseph Aistrup said. “Congratulations to Andrew for this significant achievement.”

This year’s fellowships are to support prose—works of fiction and creative nonfiction, such as memoir and personal essays. The Fellows will each be awarded $25,000, and the full list of 2018 Creative Writing Fellowship recipients is available here.

“The National Endowment for the Arts is proud to provide crucial funding to support these individuals in their creative endeavors and to continue expanding the range of ideas and viewpoints available to readers,” said Amy Stolls, NEA director of literature.

The NEA has an extensive history of supporting literature in America, providing funding for the creation of new works and for the translation of some of the world’s best literature into English. As part of this ongoing commitment, today the NEA announced it will award $1.2 million in fellowships as part of its fiscal year 2018 grantmaking.

This year’s fellows hail from 20 states and grew up in settings ranging from the Blue Ridge Mountains to a Midwestern dairy farm to a Native-American reservation in Washington State.

"I'm extremely honored to receive this award and to be in the company of such amazing writers,” Milward said. “I'm also proud to live in a country that values the contributions of artists and is committed to providing crucial support like this through the National Endowment for the Arts. I hope it will continue to do so always."     

Milward grew up in Lawrence, Kansas, and is a graduate of the Iowa Writers’ Workshop. His fiction has been a finalist for the National Magazine Award and appeared in many places, including Zoetrope, American Short Fiction, VQR, The Southern Review, Story, Guernica, as well as Best New American Voices. He is the author of the story collections The Agriculture Hall of Fame, which was awarded the Juniper Prize for Fiction by the University of Massachusetts, and I Was a Revolutionary (HarperCollins, 2015). He has served as the McCreight Fiction Fellow at the University of Wisconsin, a Steinbeck Fellow at San Jose State University, and has received fellowships and awards from the Lannan Foundation, Jentel, and the Corporation of Yaddo. He is also  fiction editor of Southern Humanities Review.

Through its Creative Writing Fellowships, the NEA gives writers the freedom to create, revise, conduct research, and connect with readers. These fellowships are highly competitive, with 1,692 eligible applicants in FY 2018. Applications are reviewed by a panel through an anonymous process and are judged solely on the artistic excellence of the work sample provided.

Since 1967, the NEA has awarded more than 3,400 Creative Writing Fellowships worth $46 million. Many American recipients of the National Book Award, National Book Critics Circle Award, and Pulitzer Prize in Poetry and Fiction were recipients of NEA fellowships early in their careers.

Last Updated: December 06, 2017