Department of Sociology, Anthropology, and Social Work

State Social Work Licensure

Alabama’s social work licensure law provides for licensing social workers at three levels: bachelor's (LBSW), master's (LMSW), and independent clinical (LICSW). One becomes licensed by completing a social work degree from a college or university that is accredited or in candidacy granted by the Council on Social Work Education and by passing the appropriate licensure exam.

The licensing law in Alabama is administered by the Alabama State Board of Social Work Examiners (ASBSWE). One of the first things students should do upon graduation is apply for licensure. Candidates for licensure must be approved by the ASBSWE in order to schedule the exam. Please review the ASWB candidate handbook for further information.

Please note licensure regulations vary by state. Students who plan to practice clinical social work in another state are encouraged to become familiar with that state’s licensing regulations. It is the responsibility of the student, or graduate, to fully understand and comply with licensing requirements in the state in which they intend to practice. 

Last Updated: January 04, 2017