Department of Political Science

2020 CLA faculty and staff awards

Published on May 07, 2020

Although the pandemic prevented us from hosting our annual College of Liberal Arts Awards Ceremony, I'd like to recognize our 2020 awardeees and congratulate them on their significant achievements. 

These awards are earned by faculty and staff who go above-and-beyond to provide an outstanding experience to our students and our college. Please join me in celebrating their accomplishments!

To view the program, click on the image, below, or visit:

Awards program

Academy of Outstanding Teachers – William Kelly, Political Science

Academy of Outstanding Teachers – Sunny Stalter-Pace, English

Outstanding Lecturer Award – Carrie Spell, English

Teaching Excellence Award – Emily C. Friedman, English

Teaching Excellence Award – Jennifer Robinson, Psychological Sciences

Outstanding Online Teaching Award – Kenneth Crowell, English

Community & Civic Engagement Teaching Award – Megan E. Heim LaFrombois, Political Science

Outstanding Instructor Award – James Loxley Compton, Philosophy

Outstanding GTA Teaching Award – Kerri Green, English


Outstanding Advising Award – Sarah Chandler, Theatre

Outstanding Advising Award – Meredith Walkup, Student Services

Staff Employee of the Year – Sharon France, Business Administrator, Dean’s Office

A&P Employee of the Year – Debra Armstrong-Wright, Coordinator, Pre-Law Program


Competitive Professional Improvement Leave – Christopher J. Ferguson, History

Competitive Professional Improvement Leave – Christopher Keirstead, English

Competitive Professional Improvement Leave – Susan A. Youngblood, English

Summer Research and Humanities Grant – Joseph Bardeen, Psychological Sciences

Summer Research and Humanities Grant – Sarah Hamilton, History

Summer Research and Humanities Grant – Michael Kozuh, History


Teaching Release Support for Grant Writing – Joyce de Vries, Art and Art History

Teaching Release Support for Grant Writing – Benjamin Fagan, English

Teaching Release Support for Grand Writing – Kelly Kennington, History


Thank you for all you’ve done and continue to do. I look forward to welcoming you back to campus as soon I can. In the meantime, stay positive, stay safe and stay healthy.


War Eagle,

Dean's signature

Joseph Aistrup, Dean
College of Liberal Arts
Auburn University