Department of Philosophy

Philosophy minor Kaylee McCormack awarded Fulbright Scholarship

Published on Apr 06, 2017

Auburn University student Kaylee McCormack has been awarded a Fulbright Scholarship to attend the Technical University of Denmark in Kongens Lyngby, Denmark, this fall.

McCormack, a senior in the Honors College majoring in chemical engineering with the Samuel Ginn College of Engineering, will conduct her research under the direction of Anker Jensen in the Department of Chemical and Biomedical Engineering at the university.

A native of Palm Bay, Florida, McCormack has a 3.98 grade point average, and for the past two years has conducted undergraduate research with Michael Squillacote, an associate professor in the Department of Chemistry. McCormack’s research explores viable methods to form polymers that photodegrade to common gases to be used as photoresists.

"The Fulbright award is an acknowledgment of Kaylee's hard work and her potential for future accomplishments," said Melissa Baumann, assistant provost and director of the Honors College. "She is community-minded yet has a global perspective, and is an outstanding representative of Auburn University. We wish her great success during her fellowship studies."

In addition to her extensive undergraduate research, McCormack serves as vice president of Honors Serves, an Honors College service initiative, as a consultant in the Miller Writing Center and as power mechanism team captain with the Auburn American Institute of Chemical Engineers Car Team. She is an Emmett Reader Award recipient in the Department of Philosophy and currently serves as the philanthropy chair for Honors Congress.

The Fulbright Program is the flagship international educational exchange program sponsored by the U.S. government and is designed to increase mutual understanding between the people of the United States and the people of other countries. Recipients are selected on the basis of academic or professional achievement, as well as demonstrated leadership potential. McCormack submitted her application under the guidance of Paul Harris and Ken Thomas with the National Prestigious Scholars Program located in the Honors College.

Last Updated: February 07, 2014