Department of Philosophy

Dr. Gorodeisky has been awarded a Jane Dickson Lanier Professorship in the Philosophy Department in the College of Liberal Arts

Published on Oct 08, 2019

The College of Liberal Arts announces three new Jane Dickson Lanier Professors: Barb Bondy, Keren Gorodeisky and Tracy Witte. Each professor will hold the title for three years.

Gorodeisky is a professor in the Department of Philosophy. She works on aesthetics, Kant, pleasure, value and rationality and is currently completing a book on the significance of Kant’s notion of aesthetic judgment. Gorodeisky and philosophy professor Eric Marcus recently won the second Arthur Danto/American Society for Aesthetics Prize for their paper “Aesthetic Rationality.” She was also the 2012-13 Phillip Quinn Felllow at the National Humanities Center.

“CLA is proud of professors Bondy, Gorodeisky and Witte, and we are grateful for their commitment to exceptional scholarship, teaching and service,” said Joseph Aistrup, dean of the College of Liberal Arts. “They are an inspiration to their colleagues and students.”

The professorship was established in 1997 by Jane Dickson Lanier to support CLA faculty who demonstrate a strong commitment to students and to the highest level of instruction, research and service. Lanier, a 1937 Auburn graduate, supported many units on campus including the College of Liberal Arts, the Jule Collins Smith Museum of Fine Art and Tigers Unlimited. She passed away in 2016.

Last Updated: February 07, 2014